TWENTY SIX: Cinema.

Standard

One thing that you didn’t know about me is I’m a cinephile or a film enthusiast. I watch a lot of movies.

This week, I’ve been watching popular films in hope I could capture the main character drives a Volkswagen but it turns out this task is not as easy as it seems. It’s because either: a) not a lot of main characters drive a Volkswagen or b) the role of the car is insignificant, making this post totally irrelevant.

After hours of watching films, I had another idea.

I could make a poster of a popular quotes and pretend it’s being said out of context (ie. about their Volkswagen). This post is so much fun because whenever I show people my work, they immediately know the quote and we would talk about films for hours (which excites me!). Anyway, here you go!

Say Hello To My Little Friend

I imagine this is the exact words Tony Montana would proudly say while showing his black 1968 Volkswagen Passat to Manny Ray, Angel and Chi-Chi.

The Pride of the Yankees

Lou Gehrig is so excited when he sees his first bronze 1952 Volkswagen Beetle. He’s super stoked he even claims he’s the luckiest man on earth!

Jerry Maguire

You can tell Dorothy Boyd’s favorite color is yellow. So when she sees the for sale sign on the yellow 1995 Volkswagen Jetta, she imagines it’s the car’s way to say hello and the car immediately had her.

I’m trying to emphasize the everyday motoring pleasure here. The brand is for everyone. Everyone – from Tony Montana to Dorothy Boyd – would find pleasure driving Volkswagen.

Benny Benassi – Cinema

Leave a Reply

