THIRTY FIVE: The city.

Standard

Richmond

Since I moved to Richmond to go to VCU, I’ve been practicing the “Yes Rule.” It’s a rule where you say “yes” to every single thing (within capacity, of course). Yes to a show, yes to go out and eat, yes to study group, yes to an interest meeting, yes to a club, etc. This night was another yes moment.

My friend invited me to AICP screening at Byrd Theater and I’m actually glad I went to the event. I learned a lot, I was really inspired and I realized that the people who created those commercials were once also students, like me.

I will make a post regarding that in the upcoming future, but this post is about my exploration of Richmond. Here, I’m trying to relate Richmond to Volkswagen brand. “How,” you ask? Let’s see, shall we.

Settled by the colonists in mid 17th century, Richmond has been around significantly for a long period of time. Richmond has seen everything. Richmond became a center of activity prior to and during the Revolutionary War, Patrick Henry’s famous speech “Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death,” was delivered at Richmond’s St. John’s Church, Richmond also saw the War of Independence and the headquarter for Civil War. This proves Richmond is not only a city that’s been around since forever, but also holds a significance value that underlines the importance of Richmond. 

Richmond is a big, constantly evolving city. Always innovating for more. Every block has a new place every single time. I think it’s because Richmond is mostly populated by students. Young minds come and go and also, influencing the Richmond’s progressiveness in the process.

You can say Richmond has a little bit of something for everyone. Home to more than 200,000 people, Richmond has numerous attractions. Making it impossible for both residents and visitors to hate this city.

Volkswagen is known for their innovative design, enduring value, and everyday motoring pleasure. Much like Volkswagen, Richmond has these values as well.

That’s my two cents so far for the city that is also known as “the Harlem of the South.” (I have to disagree here, but hey who am I to disagree.) I love living here and I think moving here was one of the best decision I’ve made. I am Richmond. I am proud to be a Richmonder.

The 1975 – The City

Leave a Reply

